Birds (You Were There)

You were there
When the birds chose to fly away from me.
You stood with me that day
And you cried your lungs out trying
To hum the song that they sing.

You were there
When the dusk chose to be its darkest on me
That night, when it poured
And thunder cracked so loud
You sought to fan away the cloud.

You were there
When they chose not to call me that night.
They had their cheers, I bore my fears
Of being all alone forever
But you were there through whatever.

I tried my best to overlook
The sweetest things that you do
I tried so hard not to fall
For the one who was there through it all
All this time,
I’ve spent my life chasing birds
When I don’t have wings to reach them
But you made me realize
That the best things in life
May be standing right before my eyes.

Comments?

