Tuesday Tunes #6: Cool Kids

Today, I have picked “Cool Kids” which is the song Echosmith is most famous for. The indie pop hit by the Sierra siblings have been very relatable to people like me, who have always wished to be just like the cool kids back in school.echosmith_-_cool_kids

The cool kids back in high school for me were the varsity players. They were always the famous ones in school, and they always had many friends. They were the guys who always get the girls. They were the guys who had the latest gadgets, and can make people laugh. No one dared to get in their way. Like the song says, “nothing in this world could ever bring them down. And because of the training they have, they arguably have fitter bodies than those like me who live a more inactive lifestyle.

I remember getting teased for being fat by these people. It stemmed to much more bullying which made my high school a living hell, and I made sure to always avoid them especially when they are ganged up along the hallways. They would call people names, some of which were below the belt and very personal, like it was nothing.

But it was everything for me. Back then, I cared a lot for what people think of me. I’ve felt so insecure about myself, and despite being one of the top students of the class, I never felt that I was all that great. The achievements I had never seemed to compare to the feeling of being one of the popular kids at school. There was a point in time when I just wished that I wasn’t me. I wished that I wasn’t an introverted, stiff and serious person, but a normal student who has many friends–the ones whom most people seem to like.

I wasn’t well-liked in high school at all. As a person who cared a lot about what people think, it hurt a lot when people talk about me behind my back, especially from those I called my friends. I’ve heard things like I’m being too bossy, lazy, stern, stiff, and having a superiority complex. I wished that I was just like the cool kids: relaxed, athletic, funny, and easy to hang out with. Although I tried to shrug these comments off, I always stayed awake at night thinking about how awful a person I was and why I wasn’t well-liked.

Now at 20 years old, I have realized that I can do a lot except one thing: pleasing everybody. It has to be the hardest thing in this world to do. The cool kids, though they are popular, have people somewhere wanting to bring them down. The same goes for me. People will talk, but only I could make myself a better person. They may not think that I am one of the cool kids, but what matters is that I see myself as a cool kid. And for me, being a cool kid is no longer about being well-liked and friends with everybody. The cool kids are those who have found happiness in their work, such that they could no longer call it work but a passion. And I wish that I could be like those cool kids.

To the cool kids back in high school, I wish you all the best. Thank you for the struggles you have given me. I long to see the day when I would no longer see you as the guys who haunt my high school memories, but as people who made me better and stronger.

Here’s “Cool Kids” by Echosmith.

Lyrics:

[Verse 1]
She sees them walking in a straight line, that’s not really her style
They all got the same heartbeat, but hers is falling behind
Nothing in this world could ever bring them down
Yeah, they’re invincible, and she’s just in the background
And she says…

[Hook]
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Cause all the cool kids, they seem to fit in
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Like the cool kids

[Verse 2]
He sees them talking with a big smile, but they haven’t got a clue
Yeah, they’re living the good life, can’t see what he is going through
They’re driving fast cars, but they don’t know where they’re going
In the fast lane, living life without knowing
And he says…

[Hook]
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Cause all the cool kids, they seem to fit in
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Like the cool kids
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Cause all the cool kids, they seem to get it
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Like the cool kids

[Bridge]
And they said…

[Hook]
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Cause all the cool kids, they seem to fit in
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Like the cool kids
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Cause all the cool kids, they seem to fit in
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Like the cool kids
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Cause all the cool kids, they seem to get it
I wish that I could be like the cool kids
Like the cool kids

Featured image taken from pinnaclecounselingnwa.com

 

Comments?

